In Virginia, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone younger than 18), even if the sex is consensual. Those who break the law have committed statutory rape.
Is there a Romeo and Juliet law in Virginia?
Virginia does recognize a limited exception for persons that are under the age of 18, but older than 15. It is usually between 15 and 17 years where you have a gray area in Virginia and you have an exemption that would typically fall under what it is commonly termed as Romeo and Juliet laws.
Can I legally move out at 18 while still in high school in Virginia?
1 attorney answer If you are 18, you have reached the age of majority and you are considered an adult. So yes, you can move out of your parents home (assuming that you have not been adjudicated incompetent by a court).
Is it illegal to trick or treat over 13 in Virginia?
CHESAPEAKE, Va. (KUTV) — Happy Halloween, but not if you are a teen. In parts of Virginia, anyone 13 or older who goes trick-or-treating can be sent to jail for up to six months according to HRScene.com. And no matter what age, trick-or-treating after 8 p.m. can land you in the clink for up to 30 days.